About Caroline's Promise

Caroline County is striving to meet the essential needs of young people," said Mrs. Powell. "By investing in youth, Caroline County is making a difference for today's young people and tomorrow's future generations.

Board of Directors:


President - Jessie Rollins, At Large

Secretary - Dr. JoWanda Rollins-Fells, Reedy Church District

Treasurer - Sonya Lewis, At Large


Cleo Coleman: Port Royal District

Billie Teague: Caroline County Public Schools

Donnell Howard: Caroline County Board of Supervisors

Patrina White: Caroline County Department of Social Services

Grayland Crisp: At Large

Linda Gray: Bowling Green District

Irene Gray: Western Caroline District

Carolyn Robinson: At Large

Andrea R. Gayle: At Large

Emily Mitchell: Divas with Promise

Supported by the Caroline County Board of Supervisors

Caroline's Promise currently has the Mattaponi District position available. You must live in the Mattaponi Voting District of Caroline County to qualify for this position.  If you are interested in serving on our Board, please contact Sarah Davis at Director@carolinespromise.com.  Our Board of Directors meets on the 4th Tuesday of every month at 5:00 p.m. in the Bowling Green Library.


Caroline’s Promise is a non-profit organization which serves the youth of Caroline County, Virginia. This organization thrives due to the contributions of local government, businesses, and citizens who are dedicated to our young people.  Caroline’s Promise was established in 2001.  On September 19, 2001, Alma Powell, vice chair of America's Promise visited Caroline County, Virginia. She joined Steve Fitzhugh, former defensive back for the Denver Broncos, and local leaders at a Youth Summit to launch Caroline's Promise.  This initiative links local government, businesses, churches and community groups to programs and activities addressing the five essential needs of the children in the county.